Veterinary Laser Therapy Dosage: Power, Time & Area
How to calculate energy and surface exposure from power time and area
To calculate veterinary laser therapy dosage, multiply average optical power by exposure time to find energy in joules. Divide the energy incident on a defined treatment field by its area to find average surface exposure in J/cm². The essential distinction is between calculating an exposure and selecting an appropriate clinical protocol.
This practical guide explains joules, J/cm², watts and exposure time for veterinary teams using photobiomodulation (PBM). Worked examples show how to calculate an exposure, distinguish a laser spot from a scanned field, and check common errors. All example settings illustrate arithmetic; they are not prescriptions for an animal or condition.
Understanding the basic parameters
| Parameter | Unit | What it describes |
| Energy | J | Total optical energy delivered during an exposure. |
| Average power | W | Rate of energy delivery; 1 W equals 1 J per second. |
| Surface radiant exposure | J/cm² | Incident energy per unit surface area; often called fluence in clinical protocols. |
| Irradiance | W/cm² | Incident optical power per unit illuminated area. |
| Exposure time | s | Duration corresponding to the average power used in the calculation. |
Three equations to keep together
Energy (J) = Average power (W) × Exposure time (s)
Average surface radiant exposure (J/cm²) = Energy incident on the field (J) ÷ Field area (cm²)
Exposure time (s) = Energy (J) ÷ Average power (W)
In clinical practice, these quantities work together. For a scanned field, J/cm² is an area average: it does not describe the exposure at every point or the energy absorbed by a deeper target.
How to calculate veterinary laser dosage
Start with the target surface exposure specified by an applicable clinical protocol, then define the treatment field. These inputs determine the required energy. Use average optical power at the tissue surface where available; a device output value requires an assumption that the stated power reaches the field.
A complete calculation example
Assume an illustrative surface target of 4 J/cm² across a 25 cm² field. If the beam remains within the field and the energy is distributed evenly, the required incident energy is:
4 J/cm² × 25 cm² = 100 J
At an average output of 5 W, delivering 100 J takes:
100 J ÷ 5 W = 20 seconds
The field-average exposure is therefore 4 J/cm². The next practical question is whether the selected technique can distribute those 100 J across the field with the intended coverage.

The same energy at different powers
| Average power | Time for 100 J |
| 1 W | 100 seconds |
| 5 W | 20 seconds |
| 10 W | 10 seconds |
| 25 W | 4 seconds |
Increasing average power shortens the time needed to deliver a fixed energy target. It also changes delivery conditions: four seconds may not allow the same scanning pattern as 100 seconds. Matching energy alone does not establish equivalent clinical effects. For appointment length and treatment-course expectations, see how long veterinary laser therapy takes.
Use the correct time interval
Use average power over the same interval represented by the exposure time. For pulsed output, that average already includes the off periods within the pulse train. Do not multiply by the duty cycle again. Exclude unrelated setup time and operator pauses, unless the reported average explicitly includes them.
For simple rectangular pulses with zero output between pulses, average power equals peak power multiplied by duty cycle. For more complex pulse patterns, use the manufacturer’s documented average output rather than estimating it from a peak-power label. Maximum rated power is not necessarily the power delivered by the selected setting.
Laser spot area and treatment field area
A treatment head may move over a large region while illuminating only a small part of it at any instant. Confusing these two areas is a common reason for misleading dose calculations.
Spot area describes where the beam is now
For a uniform beam, average irradiance across the spot equals optical power divided by the illuminated spot area at the tissue surface. For example, 5 W over a 1 cm² spot gives a spot-average irradiance of 5 W/cm². A nonuniform beam can have higher local irradiance within that spot.
Use the documented optical spot size at the working distance. The outside diameter of a treatment head is not automatically the diameter of the beam on the patient.
Field area describes the whole region treated
If that spot is scanned across 25 cm², dividing 5 W by 25 cm² does not describe the irradiance at the illuminated location. The field is not all illuminated simultaneously. After 100 J has been distributed within it, the field-average surface exposure is 4 J/cm².
Overlapping passes, turns and pauses can concentrate energy locally. Define the field boundaries, follow the protocol’s movement pattern and account for time spent near edges. These details explain why a correct field average may still conceal uneven delivery.

Figure 1. Optical spot area and scanned field area describe different quantities. Simplified uniform-spot example; not a treatment protocol.
Why area changes the result
| Energy within the field | Field area | Average surface exposure |
| 200 J | 20 cm² | 10 J/cm² |
| 200 J | 100 cm² | 2 J/cm² |
The same energy produces a fivefold difference in average surface exposure. If a session covers several fields, record the energy for each field as well as the session total; a combined total cannot describe how energy was shared between regions.

Surface exposure is not deep tissue dose
Reflection, absorption and scattering affect how light reaches tissue below the surface. A calculated surface value cannot be assumed to equal the energy density at a tendon, joint or spinal target. Wavelength alone also does not establish a fixed treatment depth. Avoid converting a surface calculation into a numerical deep-tissue dose without a validated measurement or model. The broader relationship among power, wavelength and dose provides context for these calculations.
How to interpret a published dosage protocol
Before adopting a published dose, check the full treatment method. WALT’s clinical-study reporting guidance identifies wavelength, average output, exposure time, energy, spot size and application procedure as essential information. These reporting principles help readers assess what was actually delivered.
| Information to check | Why it matters |
| Species and diagnosis | A result in one patient group does not establish effectiveness for another. |
| Wavelength and emission mode | A single-wavelength protocol does not automatically represent a multi-wavelength system. |
| Energy unit and denominator | J per point, J per joint and J/cm² are different quantities. |
| Power, spot and field size | These distinguish local delivery conditions from field averages. |
| Technique and schedule | Contact, scanning, session frequency and treatment course belong to the protocol. |
| Comparator and outcomes | Look for what was measured, when it was measured and the study’s limitations. |
What WALT recommendations can and cannot establish
WALT’s October 2022 dosage recommendations apply to Class 3B, 904 nm GaAs nanosecond-pulse lasers under specified conditions. They are not a universal veterinary Class IV dosage chart. Use a protocol relevant to the species, diagnosis and device rather than transferring a number between systems.
A dose reported in J per point also cannot be converted to J/cm² without the illuminated area. For illustration, 2 J delivered to a 0.5 cm² spot corresponds to 4 J/cm² averaged over that spot. Four separate points receiving 2 J each give 8 J total, not 8 J/cm².
Reading a treatment schedule correctly
Separate energy per point, energy per region, session total and accumulated course energy. If two distinct fields each receive 100 J, the session total is 200 J. Over six identical sessions, the course total is 1,200 J. Those totals describe different scales of exposure; neither replaces the field-level record.
Clinical study example in canine elbow osteoarthritis
Looney and colleagues studied 20 dogs with elbow osteoarthritis in a randomized, blinded, placebo-controlled trial: 11 received PBMT and nine received sham treatment. Both elbows were treated over six weeks, with outcomes assessed before treatment and 7–10 days after the last session.
The active protocol used 980 nm continuous-wave light from a Companion/LiteCure system, with reported exposure of 10–20 J/cm². Treatments were twice weekly for three weeks, then weekly for three weeks. A planned NSAID dose reduction began after week three; worsening symptoms allowed a return to the original dose. Nine of 11 treated dogs reduced NSAIDs versus none of nine controls, with greater improvement in lameness in the treatment group.
The dosage lesson is that J/cm² belongs to a complete protocol: the treated field, wavelength, delivery method, schedule and medication plan all matter. This small study did not compare alternative doses to identify an optimum, and it does not validate LYRA presets. Read the full methods before comparing its settings with another system.
A practical treatment planning workflow
Define the clinical objective and target region, choose an applicable protocol, and check that the device can deliver it. Estimate the treatment area, calculate total energy, and calculate the corresponding exposure time. Then confirm that the planned technique fits the available time and field size.
Before delivery, confirm the selected output mode, average power, optical spot size, treatment field and application method. Use the device’s safety instructions, appropriate laser eye protection and patient monitoring. If the patient shows discomfort or unexpected heating, pause and reassess rather than continuing solely to reach a numerical energy target.
Record enough information to compare sessions
Record the patient and diagnosis, anatomical field and area, selected wavelengths, emission mode, average power, optical spot size, working distance, delivered energy, exposure time and application method. Add patient tolerance and the outcome chosen for reassessment. Consistent records make changes between visits easier to interpret.
Keep medication changes and other rehabilitation interventions in the same clinical record. This helps the team interpret progress without assuming that every change resulted from laser treatment alone.
Using a multi-wavelength system such as LYRA
For an AILUCS LYRA system, treatment planning should connect the selected preset with the actual patient, field area and delivery method. Record the exact device configuration, wavelengths enabled, average power and total energy. This keeps the calculation traceable when several clinicians share a case.
Check whether the display reports combined energy or separate wavelength outputs. With simultaneous emission, combined average optical power is the sum of the active wavelength contributions. With sequential delivery, add the energy of each phase. Neither arrangement implies that each wavelength contributes an equal share of the total.
Five common calculation mistakes
Small unit or area errors can change a dose calculation substantially. Check the following before copying settings into a treatment record.
| Mistake | What to check |
| Using peak or maximum power | Use average optical power for the selected mode. |
| Mixing J per point and J/cm² | Identify the unit and area before converting. |
| Using field area for spot irradiance | Use the optical spot area at the tissue surface. |
| Double-counting pulse off time | Match average power and time to the same interval. |
| Assigning a session total to every field | Record each field’s share of the energy. |
If the device display and manual calculation disagree, first check units, average power, mode, treatment area and whether energy is reported per field or for the full session. Resolve the difference before using the calculation to guide delivery.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between joules and J/cm²
Joules describe total optical energy. J/cm² describes that energy per unit area. For example, 100 J distributed across 25 cm² gives an average surface exposure of 4 J/cm²; the same energy across 50 cm² gives 2 J/cm².
Does higher power mean a higher dose
Only if other relevant inputs stay the same. At fixed exposure time and field area, higher average power increases J/cm². If time is shortened to keep total energy unchanged, the field-average exposure stays the same. This does not establish equivalent clinical effects.
Why is there no single dose for every dog
A J/cm² value alone does not specify wavelength, local irradiance, application method or the target tissue. A clinical protocol must fit the diagnosis, anatomical region and patient. The calculation checks energy delivery; it cannot establish which protocol is effective.
How can an irregular treatment area be estimated
Define the intended field and use a consistent measurement method. A rectangle uses length × width; an ellipse uses π × length × width ÷ 4. For irregular fields, divide the area into simple nonoverlapping shapes or use an appropriate measurement tool. Record the estimate and do not substitute wound size for a larger protocol-defined field.
How do I convert milliwatts and minutes
Divide milliwatts by 1,000 to obtain watts, and multiply minutes by 60 to obtain seconds. For example, 500 mW equals 0.5 W. Over two minutes, 0.5 W × 120 s gives 60 J. Mixing mW with W or minutes with seconds produces a large calculation error.
Does pulse frequency alone tell me the dose
No. Frequency describes pulses per second. Calculating energy also requires average power, or enough information about pulse energy or pulse shape to determine it. For identical pulses, average power equals energy per pulse multiplied by pulses per second. A frequency setting alone does not specify joules.
Can I calculate joules from the display after treatment
Yes, if the device reports the average power over the relevant exposure interval, energy equals average power multiplied by that interval. If settings change during the exposure, calculate each phase separately and add the energies, or use a documented cumulative-energy function.
Is a dose based only on body weight sufficient
A body-weight category may help select a device preset, but it does not define the treated surface area or local optical conditions. Follow the preset’s instructions and record the region, field size and delivery parameters so another clinician can interpret the treatment.
Conclusion
A useful veterinary laser dosage record answers four questions: how much energy was delivered, over what area, at what average power, and by which technique. Calculate those values within a clinically justified protocol, distinguish local spot exposure from a scanned field average, and use patient reassessment to guide subsequent treatment.
References
1. World Association for Photobiomodulation Therapy. Recommended anti-inflammatory dosage for photobiomodulation. Class 3B, 904 nm GaAs nanosecond-pulse lasers. Revised October 2022. Cited for its stated scope, not as a veterinary prescription.
WALT 904 nm recommendations revised October 2022
2. World Association of Laser Therapy. Consensus agreement on the design and conduct of clinical studies with low level laser therapy and light therapy for musculoskeletal pain and disorders. Approved November 2004. Cited for treatment-parameter reporting principles.
WALT clinical study reporting guidance
3. Looney AL, Huntingford JL, Blaeser LL, Mann S. A randomized blind placebo-controlled trial investigating the effects of photobiomodulation therapy (PBMT) on canine elbow osteoarthritis. Canadian Veterinary Journal. 2018;59(9):959–966. PMID 30197438; PMCID PMC6091142.
Read the study in PubMed or access the full text in PubMed Central.